Cholera

Friday 22 February 2019 - Updated on Tuesday 5 November 2019
A disease to be tackled with multiple tools and strategies.
Cholera treatment center in Dala, Maiduguri, Nigeria
Légende
Cholera treatment center in Dala, Maiduguri, Nigeria

Cholera is a toxic contagious enteric epidemic infection caused by Vibrio cholerae, serotype O1 or O139. It leads to acute watery diarrhea which can rapidly evolve to dehydration and death if left untreated. Most patients will recover with oral rehydration therapy; however, some patients will require rapid intravenous rehydration. The death rate can be less than 1% of cases with adequate treatment; however, this can be as high as 50% if cases are left untreated.


Cholera is transmitted via food or contaminated water and can be prevented by ensuring clean water, good sanitation, and effective hygiene. Cholera can also be controlled through vaccination. The cholera vaccine is an oral vaccine consisting of 2 doses that are administered two weeks apart. 

Cholera in endemic in south-east Asia and causes outbreaks in Africa and the Americas. An increased risk of cholera has been noted in parallel with the ever-increasing size of vulnerable populations living in unsanitary conditions, in slums were basic sanitation infrastructure is lacking, or due to a breakdown of the infrastructure as a result of war or a natural disaster. Cholera affects an estimated 3–5 million people worldwide and causes 28 800–130,000 deaths a year.

Mapping the burden of disease

Concentration the effort in the most affected places

Epicentre and the Johns Hopkins University have mapped the areas where cholera is most prevalent in Africa using modeling techniques1 . Results indicate that a concentrated effort in just 5% of all districts in Africa could reduce by half the disease burden in the continent. These findings are the linchpin of the Cholera Global Roadmap to 2030, which outlines the strategy to eliminate cholera transmission as well as providing the key rational for cholera control investment case. 

Global annual cholera incidence

Concentrating on the important strains

A complementary collaboration with Institut Pasteur, in which the whole genome sequencing of more than 1000 V. cholerae isolates has been analyzed, has shown that 7th pandemic strains have been introduced in Africa several times in the last 50 years from Southern-Asia. The circulation of strains can be monitored by observing the emergence of hotspots in neighbouring countries in Africa.  This makes it possible to anticipate the areas where such hotspots may appear and focus cholera control activities there. This helps prevent the reintroduction of new viruses.

Understanding outbreaks

Better estimates despite underreporting of cases

Retrospective morbidity and mortality studies conducted by Epicentre in Haiti demonstrated that the true number of cholera cases was much higher than recorded because remote villages are beyond the reach of health services3.   

Epicentre provides field epidemiology support to Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) to describe cholera outbreaks in terms of time, place and person. Epicentre has developed as well models to better understand the cholera epidemics spread, as it has been recently the case in Yemen4. In addition, Epicentre has shown using spatial epidemiological methods that cholera spreads in clusters. 

Exploring suitable intervention strategies

Epicentre is exploring a better intervention strategy referred to as case-area target interventions, which can include WASH interventions, ring vaccination as well as distribution of antibiotics to household members. This intervention was piloted in 17 clusters in Juba in 2015; the results were encouraging but more work will be needed to confirm that this is an effective approach.

Diagnostics

Cholera treatment center in Yemen, 2017.
Légende
Cholera treatment center in Yemen, 2017.

Optimizing detection for faster intervention

The cholera rapid diagnostic tests (RDTs) are useful to speed-up the detection, confirmation and notification of cholera epidemics. Reliable estimates of the sensitivity and the specificity of RDTs are essential. Several analytical epidemiological studies conducted in Zambia, South Sudan and DRC have covered this question both for Crystal VC and SD Bioline RDTs, using the direct method with stools and also an enrichment step in alkaline peptone water. 

Cholera vaccination

Chart showing the increase in the use of the cholera vaccine.
Légende
Chart showing the increase in the use of the cholera vaccine.

Vaccination as a public health tool

Before 2012, cholera vaccine was almost exclusively a traveler’s vaccine and not a public health tool. In 2012, MSF conducted the first vaccination campaign in Guinea with Shanchol, a newly WHO prequalified vaccine, and analytical and descriptive epidemiological  studies conducted by Epicentre shown the feasibility of conducting such a campaign as well as the safety, efficacy, and acceptability of the vaccine5. This was an important step that contributed to the creation of the global cholera vaccine stockpile in 2013. Since then vaccination has become a standard tool in the fight against cholera. 
 

Vaccination in outbreaks

A timely response is essential during outbreaks, which is challenging to achieve with the currently recommended two-dose schedule. Epicentre is exploring the feasibility of controlling the outbreak spread by administering a single-dose. Results from our case-control studies conducted in Zambia and South Sudan indicated that the short term protection of single-dose is similar than two-dose protection in the short term6,7.

Hard-to-reach populations

Cholera response on and around lake Chilwa, Malawi, 2016.
Légende
Cholera response on and around lake Chilwa, Malawi, 2016.

Access to vaccination and the administration of a two-dose schedule is particularly problematic for hard-to-reach populations, such as fishermen or displaced population living in conflict areas.  MSF has piloted administration of the 2nd dose either with the help of a community leader or at the individual level in such settings among fishermen in Malawi. This strategy has been made possible thanks to the high thermal-stability of the Shanchol vaccine , which has been  recently licensed for controlled-temperature-chain (CTC) use, meaning the vaccine can be safely used for 14 days stored up to 40C. Vaccine coverage surveys showed good acceptability among fishermen in Malawi and an analytical study showed the high effectiveness of this strategy to prevent cholera. 

Epicentre is part of the oral cholera vaccine working group at the Strategic Advisory Group of Experts (SAGE). Epicentre is also member of the Global Task Force for Cholera Control and actively participates in several working groups and chairs the cholera surveillance working group

Selected resources

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Modelling the cholera outbreak in Yemen - Camacho A - Video 2018

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Modelling the cholera outbreak in Yemen - Camacho A - Abstract 2018

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Cholera diseases burden and circulation of V. cholerae strains in Africa - Luquero F - Poster 2018

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Cholera spatial clustering and the use of case-area targeted interventions - Luquero F - Poster 2018

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Cholera vaccine protection: a meta-analysis from efficacy and effectiveness studies - Luquero F - Poster 2018

Classification principale
08.06.2017

Oral cholera vaccines: transforming old products into new solutions for neglected populations - Luquero F - Video 2017

Classification principale
08.06.2017

Oral cholera vaccines: transforming old products into new solutions for neglected populations - Luquero F - Abstract 2017

See all

Selected publications

Mapping the burden of cholera in sub-Saharan Africa and implications for control: an analysis of data across geographical scales.

Journal Reference: Lancet (London, England) 2018 05 12; 391(10133); 1908-1915. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(17)33050-7. Epub 2018 03 01

Cholera epidemic in Yemen, 2016-18: an analysis of surveillance data.

Journal Reference: The Lancet. Global health 2018 06 ; 6(6); e680-e690. doi: 10.1016/S2214-109X(18)30230-4. Epub 2018 05 03

Use of Vibrio cholerae vaccine in an outbreak in Guinea.

Journal Reference: The New England journal of medicine 2014 May 29; 370(22); 2111-20. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1312680. Epub 2014 06 10

Single-Dose Cholera Vaccine in Response to an Outbreak in Zambia.

Journal Reference: The New England journal of medicine 2018 02 08; 378(6); 577-579. doi: 10.1056/NEJMc1711583. Epub 2018 02 14
See all

References

1    Lessler J, Moore SM, Luquero FJ, McKay HS, Grais R, Henkens M, et al. Mapping the burden of cholera in sub-Saharan Africa and implications for control: an analysis of data across geographical scales. Lancet 2018. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(17)33050-7.
2   Weill F-X, Domman D, Njamkepo E, Tarr C, Rauzier J, Fawal N, et al. Genomic history of the seventh pandemic of cholera in Africa. Science (80- ) 2017;358. doi:10.1126/science.aad5901.
3    Luquero FJ, Rondy M, Boncy J, Munger A, Mekaoui H, Rymshaw E, et al. Mortality rates during cholera Epidemic, Haiti, 2010-2011. Emerg Infect Dis 2016;22. doi:10.3201/eid2203.141970.
4    Camacho A, Bouhenia M, Alyusfi R, Alkohlani A, Naji MAM, de Radiguès X, et al. Cholera epidemic in Yemen, 2016–18: an analysis of surveillance data. Lancet Glob Heal 2018;0. doi:10.1016/S2214-109X(18)30230-4.
5   Luquero FJ, Grout L, Ciglenecki I, Sakoba K, Traore B, Heile M, et al. Use of Vibrio cholerae vaccine in an outbreak in Guinea. N Engl J Med 2014;370. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1312680.
6    Azman AS, Parker LA, Rumunu J, Tadesse F, Grandesso F, Deng LL, et al. Effectiveness of one dose of oral cholera vaccine in response to an outbreak: a case-cohort study. Lancet Glob Heal 2016;4:e856–63. doi:10.1016/S2214-109X(16)30211-X.
7    Ferreras E, Chizema-Kawesha E, Blake A, Chewe O, Mwaba J, Zulu G, et al. Single-Dose Cholera Vaccine in Response to an Outbreak in Zambia. N Engl J Med 2018;378. doi:10.1056/NEJMc1711583.

Choléra

Jeudi 31 janvier 2019 - Mis à jour le Mardi 5 novembre 2019
Une maladie à combattre avec des outils et stratégies variées.
Centre de traitement du choléra à Dala, Maiduguri, Nigeria
Légende
Centre de traitement du choléra à Dala, Maiduguri, Nigeria

Le choléra est une toxi-infection entérique épidémique contagieuse due à la bactérie Vibrio choleræ par le sérotype O1 ou O139 de Vibrio cholera. Il se manifeste par une diarrhée aiguë qui peut rapidement évoluer vers la déshydratation et la mort si elle n'est pas traitée. La plupart des patients se rétablissent avec un traitement de réhydratation orale ; cependant, certains nécessiteront d’être rapidement réhydratés par voie intraveineuse. Si l’épidémie est bien prise en charge, la mortalité peut descendre en dessous de 1 % avec un traitement adéquat, la mortalité peut toucher moins de 1 % des cas mais elle peut grimper à 50 % en l’absence de traitement.

Le choléra est transmis par des aliments ou de l'eau contaminés. Il est possible de prévenir la maladie si l’on peut disposer d’une eau propre, de systèmes d’assainissement corrects et d’une hygiène efficace. Le choléra peut également être contrôlé par la vaccination, avec 2 doses administrées à deux semaines d'intervalle par voie orale. 

Le choléra est endémique en Asie du Sud-Est. En Afrique et en Amérique, il provoque des épidémies. Le risque de choléra s’accroît avec l'augmentation constante des populations vulnérables qui vivent dans des conditions insalubres, dans les bidonvilles à structure sanitaires insuffisantes qui ne disposent pas des infrastructures de base, ou en cas de guerre ou de catastrophe naturelle qui anéantissent ces infrastructures. Le choléra touche entre 3 et 5 millions de personnes dans le monde et provoque entre 28 800 et 130 000 décès par an.

Cartographier le fardeau de la maladie

Concentrer l’effort au bon endroit

Epicentre et l'Université John Hopkins ont cartographié les régions d’Afrique où le choléra est le plus répandu en utilisant des techniques de modélisation1. Les résultats indiquent que la charge que représente la maladie pourrait être réduite de moitié sur le continent africain si les efforts de lutte se concentraient sur à peine 5% de tous les districts d'Afrique. Ces conclusions sont au cœur de la 'Feuille de route mondiale pour le choléra jusqu’en 2030', qui définit les axes stratégiques visant à éliminer la transmission du choléra ainsi que les principaux arguments qui expliquent la nécessité d’investir dans la lutte contre le choléra. 

Incidence annuelle mondiale du choléra

Se concentrer sur les zones très affectées par le choléra

Une collaboration complémentaire avec l'Institut Pasteur, qui a permis de séquencer le génome de plus de 1000 isolats de vibrio Volerae et montré qu’au cours de 50 dernières années, les souches de la 7ème pandémie avaient été introduites en Afrique à plusieurs reprises et provenaient d'Asie du Sud. On peut suivre la circulation des souches2 en observant l’apparition de points chauds que se partagent des pays voisins en Afrique. Ceci permet d’anticiper sur les zones où vont apparaître ces points chauds et focaliser des activités de lutte contre le choléra. On peut ainsi éviter la réintroduction de nouvelles souches.

Comprendre les épidémies

De meilleures estimations malgré la sous-déclaration des cas

En Haïti, les études rétrospectives de morbidité et de mortalité menées par Epicentre ont démontré que le nombre réel de cas de choléra était beaucoup plus élevé que celui enregistré du fait de l’isolement des ces villages et de leur éloignement des centres de santé. Tragiquement, les cas ne sont pas traités et des personnes meurent par manque d'accès au traitement3.  

Epicentre apporte un soutien épidémiologique sur le terrain à Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) pour décrire les épidémies de choléra, leur temporalité, leur localisation et les populations affectées. Epicentre a également développé des modèles pour mieux comprendre la propagation des épidémies de choléra, comme cela a été le cas récemment au Yémen4. Epicentre a montré par des méthodes épidémiologiques spatiales que le choléra se propage en grappes.

Explorer des stratégies d'intervention appropriées

Epicentre explore une stratégie améliorée d'intervention, appelée intervention ciblée des cas par zone, qui permet de planifier des actions sur l’eau potable, l’assainissement et l’hygiène, la vaccination en anneau ainsi que la distribution d'antibiotiques aux personnes vivant sous le même toit. Cette intervention a été mise à l'essai dans 17 grappes  à Djouba en 2015 ; les résultats sont encourageants, mais d’autres travaux sont encore nécessaires pour confirmer l’efficacité véritable de cette approche.

Diagnostic

Centre de traitement du choléra au Yémen, 2017.
Légende
Centre de traitement du choléra au Yémen, 2017.

Optimiser la détection pour une intervention plus rapide

Les tests de diagnostic rapide du choléra (TDR) sont utiles pour accélérer la détection, la confirmation et la notification des épidémies de choléra. Il est essentiel de disposer d’une estimation fiable de leur sensibilité et leur spécificité  pour pouvoir se fier aux résultats qu’ils indiquent. Plusieurs études épidémiologiques analytiques menées en Zambie, au Sud-Soudan et en RDC ont couvert cette question pour les TDR Crystal VC et SD Bioline, en utilisant la méthode directe sur échantillons de selles et avec une  étape d'enrichissement en eau peptonée alcaline.  

Vaccination contre le choléra

Graphique montrant l'augmentation de l'utilisation du vaccin contre le choléra.
Légende
Graphique montrant l'augmentation de l'utilisation du vaccin contre le choléra.

La vaccination comme outil de santé publique

Avant 2012, le vaccin contre le choléra n’était pas un outil de santé publique mais presque exclusivement un vaccin pour les voyageurs. En 2012, MSF a mené la première campagne de vaccination en Guinée avec le Shanchol, un nouveau vaccin pré-qualifié par l'Organisation mondial de la Santé (OMS). Les études épidémiologiques analytiques et descriptives menées par Epicentre ont démontré la faisabilité d'une telle campagne ainsi que la sécurité, l'efficacité et l'acceptabilité du vaccin5. Il s'agit là d'une étape importante qui a contribué à la création d'un stock mondial de vaccins contre le choléra en 2013. Depuis la vaccination est devenue une procédure habituelle de lutte contre les épidémies. 


La vaccination lors d'épidémies

Il est essentiel d'intervenir rapidement en cas de flambée, et le calendrier à deux doses ralentit la rapidité de la réponse vaccinale. Epicentre étudie actuellement la faisabilité du contrôle de la propagation de l'épidémie avec l'administration d'une dose unique. Les résultats de nos études cas-témoins menées en Zambie et au Sud-Soudan indiquent que la protection à court terme offerte par la dose unique est similaire à la protection que confère la double dose6,7.

Populations difficiles à atteindre

Réponse au choléra sur et autour du lac Chilwa, Malawi, 2016.
Légende
Réponse au choléra sur et autour du lac Chilwa, Malawi, 2016.

La vaccination à deux doses complique l’accès à des populations difficiles à atteindre comme les pêcheurs ou les populations déplacées vivant dans des zones de conflit.  C’est dans ce type de contexte que MSF a entrepris des essais cliniques auprès de pêcheurs au Malawi en proposant au patient de s’administrer lui-même l’administration de cette  deuxième dose ou confiant cette deuxième dose à un agent communautaire. Cette stratégie a été rendue possible grâce à la grande stabilité thermique du vaccin Shanchol, qui a récemment été homologué pour être utilisé avec une chaîne à température contrôlée (CTC) : le vaccin peut être utilisé en toute sécurité pendant 14 jours jusqu'à 40°C. Les études de couverture vaccinale ont montré une bonne acceptabilité chez les pêcheurs du Malawi et une étude épidémiologique analytique a montré la bonne efficacité de cette stratégie de prévention contre le choléra. 

Epicentre fait partie du groupe de travail sur le vaccin oral contre le choléra de SAGE (groupe stratégique consultatif d'experts sur la vaccination). Epicentre est également membre du Groupe de travail mondial pour la lutte contre le choléra, participe activement à plusieurs autres groupes de travail et préside le groupe de travail sur la surveillance du choléra.

Ressources sélectionées

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Modélisation de l'épidémie de choléra au Yémen - Camacho A - Video 2018 (EN)

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Modélisation de l’épidémie de choléra au Yémen - Camacho A - Abstract 2018 (EN)

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Charge des maladies du choléra et circulation des souches de V. cholerae en Afrique - Luquero F - Poster 2018 (EN)

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Protection par le vaccin contre le choléra : une méta-analyse des études d'efficacité et efficience - Luquero F - Poster 2018 (EN)

Classification principale
07.06.2018

Le regroupement spatial du choléra et ciblage des zones affectées - Luquero F - Poster 2018 (EN)

Classification principale
08.06.2017

Vaccins oraux contre le choléra : transformer des produits anciens en solutions nouvelles pour les populations négligées - Luquero F - Video 2017 (EN)

Classification principale
08.06.2017

Vaccins oraux contre le choléra : transformer des produits anciens en solutions nouvelles pour les populations négligées - Luquero F - Abstract 2017 (EN)

Voir plus

Publications sélectionnées

Mapping the burden of cholera in sub-Saharan Africa and implications for control: an analysis of data across geographical scales.

Référence de l'article: Lancet (London, England) 2018 05 12; 391(10133); 1908-1915. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(17)33050-7. Epub 2018 03 01

Cholera epidemic in Yemen, 2016-18: an analysis of surveillance data.

Référence de l'article: The Lancet. Global health 2018 06 ; 6(6); e680-e690. doi: 10.1016/S2214-109X(18)30230-4. Epub 2018 05 03

Use of Vibrio cholerae vaccine in an outbreak in Guinea.

Référence de l'article: The New England journal of medicine 2014 May 29; 370(22); 2111-20. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1312680. Epub 2014 06 10

Single-Dose Cholera Vaccine in Response to an Outbreak in Zambia.

Référence de l'article: The New England journal of medicine 2018 02 08; 378(6); 577-579. doi: 10.1056/NEJMc1711583. Epub 2018 02 14
Voir plus

Réferences

1    Lessler J, Moore SM, Luquero FJ, McKay HS, Grais R, Henkens M, et al. Mapping the burden of cholera in sub-Saharan Africa and implications for control: an analysis of data across geographical scales. Lancet 2018. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(17)33050-7.
2   Weill F-X, Domman D, Njamkepo E, Tarr C, Rauzier J, Fawal N, et al. Genomic history of the seventh pandemic of cholera in Africa. Science (80- ) 2017;358. doi:10.1126/science.aad5901.
3    Luquero FJ, Rondy M, Boncy J, Munger A, Mekaoui H, Rymshaw E, et al. Mortality rates during cholera Epidemic, Haiti, 2010-2011. Emerg Infect Dis 2016;22. doi:10.3201/eid2203.141970.
4    Camacho A, Bouhenia M, Alyusfi R, Alkohlani A, Naji MAM, de Radiguès X, et al. Cholera epidemic in Yemen, 2016–18: an analysis of surveillance data. Lancet Glob Heal 2018;0. doi:10.1016/S2214-109X(18)30230-4.
5   Luquero FJ, Grout L, Ciglenecki I, Sakoba K, Traore B, Heile M, et al. Use of Vibrio cholerae vaccine in an outbreak in Guinea. N Engl J Med 2014;370. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1312680.
6    Azman AS, Parker LA, Rumunu J, Tadesse F, Grandesso F, Deng LL, et al. Effectiveness of one dose of oral cholera vaccine in response to an outbreak: a case-cohort study. Lancet Glob Heal 2016;4:e856–63. doi:10.1016/S2214-109X(16)30211-X.
7    Ferreras E, Chizema-Kawesha E, Blake A, Chewe O, Mwaba J, Zulu G, et al. Single-Dose Cholera Vaccine in Response to an Outbreak in Zambia. N Engl J Med 2018;378. doi:10.1056/NEJMc1711583.