COVID-19

Thursday 23 April 2020 - Updated on Wednesday 28 July 2021
Since the beginning of the pandemic, Epicentre has contributed to a better understanding of this disease through epidemiological surveillance.

Coronavirus pandemic

Covid-19 pandemic
Légende
Covid-19 pandemic

The current pandemic is the result of a coronavirus identified in December 2019 in the city of Wuhan, in Hubei province (China), officially called SARS-CoV-2.
 
This virus causes a disease called Covid-19, characterised by respiratory symptoms ranging from a simple cold to severe acute respiratory syndromes. The spread of Covid-19 led the World Health Organization (WHO) to declare it a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (30 January 2020), then to recognise it as a pandemic (11 March 2020). 

Transmission of the virus

SARS-CoV-2 is spread from human to human through the air (via droplets produced when coughing, sneezing or talking) and through physical contact like kissing. It may also be transmitted via contact with a contaminated object, e.g. through a handshake or touching a contaminated surface. A distance of at least one metre between two people appears adequate for preventing transmission; as a precautionary measure, a distance of two metres or more is sometimes recommended or required. The cleaning of contaminated surfaces is also a protective measure.

The virus can survive for between two and three hours in dry environments, and for varying durations on different materials. The virus is highly contagious. 

Clinical

Identification of key and primordial symptoms
Légende
Identification of key and primordial symptoms

The average incubation period is five days, with the range being two to twelve days. Early symptoms are non-specific: headache, muscle pain and fatigue. Fever and respiratory signs appear later, often two to three days after the onset of early symptoms.

On average, there is one week from the onset of symptoms to the appearance of initial signs of severity, most often requiring hospitalisation. 

At this stage, symptoms comprise fever, cough, chest pain and difficulty breathing. The most serious forms are observed in people who are vulnerable due to their age (over 70 years) or comorbidities (high blood pressure, heart failure, respiratory failure, diabetes, obesity, etc.).

Studies have shown that the infection may be asymptomatic or relatively mild in 30 to 60% of those infected.

COVID-19 surveillance

High quality data combined with timely and appropriate analysis is required to inform the response to epidemics. When an initial localized epidemic progress to global pandemic, this need becomes a vital element to achieve coordination, preparedness, and control at global level. 

Nonetheless, access to timely and sound analyses becomes difficult during emergencies for several reasons, including weaknesses of the health care systems, barriers on access to health care, limited capabilities for testing, data collection and data management or limited capacity to conduct appropriate analysis. 

However, differential access to health care and laboratory testing capabilities can constitute limits to the access to a overview of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

In relation with the disparity of the testing strategies, a simple metric such as the number of tests carried out per case detected, shows large differences among countries with similar level of diseases incidence. 

Insufficient testing capacity may have limited the early detection of outbreaks and therefore the timeliness of the control measures. In addition, testing and isolation of infected individuals with active shedding is an important control measure itself that can only be optimally implemented when decentralized testing capacity is in place.

Access to health care and testing capacity become even more relevant in settings where the health care and surveillance systems are limited. The main risk associated with these two limitations is possible delays in detecting the emergence of local outbreaks which could entail fatal consequences in the outbreak control capacity.

First observations in Africa

So far, the prevalence in African countries seems to be lower than those observed in Europe. Several factors can explain this trend, including lower number of imported cases, early adoption of control measures including social distancing and prevention of mass gatherings, limited transport infrastructure, or better preparation and resilience to face epidemics. Other factors like higher household sizes or higher intergenerational mixture could on the contrary be considered as risk factor for spread. Further analyses are needed to consolidate them and have a better appreciation of the reality of the contamination in Africa.

Epicentre activities

The understanding of the local epidemiology is critical to provide useful guidance to operatations. Epicentre is supporting the Ministries of Health in several countries  and dozens of MSF missions to collect, analyze and interpret current COVID-19 dynamics to inform the implementation of the local response.

Epicentre provides the appropriate tools for all MSF chapters to collect data and compile information from all projects into a single database, then analyze this data on a weekly basis and produce a monthly report for 46 countries.

Epicentre also supports MSF missions on

  • Retrospective seroprevalence and mortality study in West Africa, Côte d'Ivoire, DRC, among health workers in several countries, in Dagahaley refugee camp, Garissa County, Kenya
  • Clinical database for patient follow-up in Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Yemen
  • Evaluation of rapid antigen and antibody tests for COVID-19

In France, Epicentre with MSF and the Pasteur Institute conducted a seroprevalence survey between June 23 and July 2, 2020 in fourteen of the NGO's intervention sites in the Paris region. This analysis shows that, depending on the site, 18 to 94% of people were infected with the SARS- CoV-2 virus
 
Local analysis combined with programs that fit the local needs and consider the community perceptions constitute the way forward to minimize the social, economic and health cost of this pandemic

Laboratory-based diagnosis

Covid-19: Laboratory testing
Légende
Laboratory testing

There are two different approaches to diagnosis, referred to as ‘direct’ and ‘indirect’ methods.

  • Direct methods show the presence of the virus or one of its component parts (RNA or a surface antigen (Ag)) in nasopharyngeal samples. This tells us whether or not a person is infected (regardless of whether they show symptoms).
  • Indirect methods detect the host’s immune response to the virus in their blood, revealing whether the person is or has been infected and has produced antibodies.

These diagnostic approaches have been developed in various forms:

  • “PCR” molecular tests (reverse transcriptase Polymerase Chain reaction; RT-PCR) to detect the RNA of the virus via either automated platforms in reference laboratories or point-of-care testing (e.g. GeneXpert), carried out using nasopharyngeal or lower respiratory tract samples.
  • Antigen tests: in the form of disposable rapid diagnostic tests (RDTs) with naso- or oropharyngeal swabs. 
  • Serological tests: these tests use blood samples to detect the humoral immune response post-infection (detection of IgM, IgG and potentially IgA antibodies).

 

They can be automated tests (e.g. enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay [ELISA]) or disposable RDTs. ELISA tests require a laboratory, contrary to RDTs. However, the latter have not yet been validated for finger-prick blood samples.

Epicentre activities

France: Epicentre worked with the AP-HP (Paris hospital and university centre) and the Henri Mondor and Bicêtre hospitals in Créteil and Kremlin-Bicêtre respectively to evaluate several rapid antibody tests, including one supplied by MSF, and two rapid antigen tests supplied by MSF. The objective is to reinforce the retrospective evaluation methodology versus other studies - evaluations of characterised patient samples (clinical data) with an adequate sample size - and define a protocol.

Cameroon.  In collaboration with MSF and the Cameroon Ministry of Public Health, Epicentre is demonstrating that rapid serological and antigenic tests are a reliable and more easily deployed alternative in resource-limited countries to enable early case management and limit the spread of the pandemic. 
To learn more read the news

Niger: Deployment of the Alert-CoVid-19 platform with the MSF Foundation, Medic Mobile, the Niger Ministry of Public Health and Google to set up an electronic tool to organize the reception and investigation of CoVid-19 alerts.

Read the news

Other: Preparation of general protocols for evaluating RDTs in countries with limited resources.

Treatments

Management is currently symptomatic, taking the form of antipyretics for fever (paracetamol), rehydration, and oxygen therapy or artificial ventilation in critical care units for serious cases. Hundreds of clinical trials are taking place across the world.

Epicentre is part of an international coalition of 70 institutions aiming to accelerate clinical research in resource-poor countries.

Vaccines

Today, vaccination campaigns have begun in several countries around the world. It is a research achievement that in spring 2021, 4 vaccines - Pfizer/BioNtech, Moderna, AstraZeneka Johnson & Johnson - have already been approved by the European Medicines Agency and several are under development, just over a year after the start of the pandemic.

Their effectiveness and the logistics required for their deployment are different.

A vaccine can act on several levels. It can prevent infection and interrupt transmission. To date, this capacity is being investigated for the 4 licensed vaccines. On the other hand, these 4 vaccines prevent the occurrence of symptomatic forms of the disease and consequently of severe forms. The two RNA vaccines, the Pfizer/BioNtech and Moderna vaccines, have an efficacy greater than 90%, which means that clinical trials have shown a reduction of more than 90% in the occurrence of symptomatic forms in people who received the vaccine compared to the placebo group.

While Johnson & Johnson's vaccine requires only one dose, the other 3 require 2 injections.

Epicentre publication

From China: hope and lessons for COVID-19 control.

Journal Reference: The Lancet. Infectious diseases 2020 Apr 03; (); Array. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30264-4. Epub 2020 04 03

Serology for SARS-CoV-2: Apprehensions, opportunities, and the path forward.

Journal Reference: Science immunology 2020 05 19; 5(47); Array. doi: 10.1126/sciimmunol.abc6347. Epub 2020 05 22
See all

COVID-19

Mercredi 1 avril 2020 - Mis à jour le Mercredi 28 juillet 2021
Depuis le début de la pandémie, Epicentre participe à mieux comprendre cette maladie notamment à travers une surveillance épidémiologique.

Pandémie de coronavirus

Pandémie de Covid-19
Légende
Pandémie de Covid-19

La pandémie actuelle est liée à un coronavirus identifié en décembre 2019 dans la ville de Wuhan, dans la province de Hubei (Chine), officiellement appelé SARS-CoV-2.

Ce virus est responsable d’une maladie appelée Covid19 caractérisée par des atteintes des voies respiratoires pouvant aller du simple rhume à des syndromes respiratoires aigus sévères. La progression de Covid19 a conduit l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) à la déclarer urgence de santé publique de portée internationale (30 janvier 2020), puis  pandémie (11 mars 2020). 

Transmission du virus

Le SARS-CoV-2 se transmet d’homme à homme par voie aérienne par le biais de gouttelettes émises lors d’une toux, d’un éternuement, d’une discussion ou par contact physique comme un baiser. La transmission peut aussi être due à un contact contaminant : poignée de main ou surfaces contaminées. Pour éviter la transmission, une distance supérieure à un mètre entre deux individus semble généralement suffisante ; par précaution, 2 mètres, voire plus, sont parfois proposés ou imposés. Le nettoyage des surfaces contaminantes fait aussi partie des mesures de protection.

Le virus survit entre 2 et 3 heures en milieu sec, et de façon variable sur les surfaces de matériaux différents. Le virus est très contagieux.

Clinique

Identification des symptômes clés  et primordiales
Légende
Identification des symptômes clés et primordiales

La durée de l'incubation est en moyenne de 5 jours, avec des extrêmes de 2 à 12 jours. Les premiers symptômes sont peu spécifiques : maux de tête, douleurs musculaires, fatigue. La fièvre et les signes respiratoires arrivent secondairement, souvent deux ou trois jours après le début des premiers signes.

Il s'écoule en moyenne une semaine entre l'apparition des premiers symptômes et l’apparition des signes de sévérité requérant le plus souvent une admission à l'hôpital.

A ce stade, les symptômes associent fièvre, toux, douleurs thoraciques et gêne respiratoire. Les formes les plus graves sont observées chez des personnes vulnérables en raison de leur âge (plus de 70 ans) ou de maladies associées (hypertension artérielle, insuffisance cardiaque, insuffisance respiratoire, diabète, obésité, etc.).

Des études ont montré que l'infection peut être asymptomatique ou peu symptomatique chez 30 à 60 % des sujets infectés.

Surveillance épidémiologique de la COVID-19

La réponse aux épidémies nécessite l’association de données de grande qualité et d’analyses appropriées. Lorsqu’une épidémie initialement localisée acquiert le statut de pandémie, cette association devient un élément essentiel pour assurer la coordination, la préparation et le contrôle à l’échelle mondiale. 

Cependant, l’accès à des analyses rigoureuses devient difficile pendant les situations d’urgence en  raisons par exemple de la faiblesse des systèmes de santé, des obstacles à l’accès aux soins, des capacités de tester, de la capacité parfois limitée de recueil et de gestion des données ou encore des moyens insuffisants pour procéder aux analyses appropriées.
 
Pour autant, les différences d’accès aux soins de santé et aux tests de laboratoire peuvent constituer des limites à l’accès à une vision claire de la pandémie de Covid-19. 

En lien avec la disparité des stratégies de dépistage, un simple indicateur comme le nombre de tests effectués par cas détecté, révèle de grandes différences parmi les pays qui présentent des niveaux similaires d’incidence de la maladie. 

Des capacités de test insuffisantes peuvent avoir limité la détection précoce de foyers épidémiques et de ce fait, la rapidité de la mise en place de mesures de contrôle. De plus, le dépistage et l’isolation des individus infectés avec excrétion active du virus sont des mesures de contrôle importantes en elles-mêmes qui ne peuvent être implémentées de manière optimale que lorsque des infrastructures de tests décentralisées sont en place.

L’accès aux soins de santé et aux tests devient d’autant plus important quand ces soins et les systèmes de surveillance sont limités. Le principal risque associé à ces deux limitations est un retard de détection précoce des foyers d’infection qui peut avoir des conséquences désastreuses pour les capacités de contrôle de la flambée épidémique.

Les premières observations en Afrique

Jusqu’à présent, la prévalence dans les pays africains semble plus faible que celles observée en Europe. Plusieurs facteurs peuvent expliquer cette tendance, comme par exemple le nombre plus faible de cas importés, l’adoption précoce de mesures de contrôle comme la distanciation sociale et l’interdiction des rassemblements de masse, des infrastructures de transport limitées, ou une meilleure préparation et une plus grande résilience face aux épidémies. D’autres facteurs comme la plus grande taille des ménages sous un même toit ou un mélange intergénérationnel plus important pourraient  à contrario être considérés comme des facteurs de risque de propagation Des analyses complémentaires sont nécessaires pour les consolider et avoir une meilleure appréciation de la réalité de la contamination en Afrique.

Que fait Epicentre ?

La compréhension des épidémies locales est cruciale pour fournir des indications utiles aux opérations. Epicentre apporte son soutien au ministère de la Santé dans plusieurs pays et à de nombreuses missions de MSF pour recueillir, analyser et interpréter l’évolution de la pandémie de Covid-19 et éclairer la mise en œuvre des réponses nationales. 

Epicentre fournit les outils appropriés à toutes les sections MSF pour collecter les données et compiler les informations de tous les projets dans une base de données unique, puis analyser ces données sur une base hebdomadaire et produire un rapport mensuel pour 46 pays.


Epicentre vient aussi en soutien aux missions de MSF sur :

  • Etude de séroprévalence et mortalité rétrospective en Afrique de l’Ouest, Côte d’Ivoire, RDC, chez des personnels de santé dans plusieurs pays, dans le camp de réfugiés de Dagahaley, Garissa County, Kenya
  • Base de données cliniques pour le suivi des patients en Afghanistan, au Burkina Faso, au Yémen
  • Evaluation des tests rapides d'antigène et d'anticorps pour le COVID-19

 

En France, Epicentre avec MSF et l’Institut Pasteur a mené une enquête de séroprévalence entre le 23 juin et le 2 juillet 2020 sur quatorze lieux d’intervention de l’ONG en région parisienne. Cette analyse montre que selon les sites 18 à 94 % des personnes ont été infectées par le virus SARS- CoV-2. 

Pour En Savoir plus : lire l'actualité 

Les analyses locales, associées à des programmes adaptés, et prenant en considération les représentations de la population, constituent la marche à suivre pour minimiser les coûts sociaux, économiques, et sanitaires de cette pandémie.

Les différents types de tests diagnostiques pour la COVID-19

Covid-19 :Test en laboratoire
Légende
Test en laboratoire

Il existe deux types d’approche diagnostique, les méthodes dites directes et les méthodes indirectes.

  • Les premières permettent de révéler la présence du virus ou de l’un de ses constituants (ARN) ou un antigène de surface (Ag) dans des prélèvements nasopharyngés et donc de dire si la personne est infectée (qu’elle soit symptomatique ou non).
  • Les secondes reposent sur la détection dans le sang de la réponse immunitaire de l’hôte contre le virus permettant de dire si la personne est ou a été infectée et si elle a produit des anticorps.

Ces approches diagnostiques ont été développées sous plusieurs formes : 

  • Tests moléculaires dits « PCR »  (reverse transcriptase Polymerase Chain reaction ; RT-PCR) pour détecter l’ARN du virus soit sur des plateformes automatisées dans des laboratoires de référence, soit sous des formes « point-of-care » (type GeneXpert)¸réalisés à partir d’un prélèvement nasopharyngé  ou des  voies respiratoires basses 
     
  • Tests antigéniques : sous forme de tests rapides d’orientation diagnostique (TRD) unitaires, réalisés sur des écouvillons naso ou oro-pharyngés
     
  • Tests sérologiques : à partir d’un prélèvement sanguin, ces tests permettent la détection de la réponse immunitaire humorale post-infectieuse (détection des anticorps IgM, IgG et éventuellement IgA)

 

Ce sont soit des tests automatisables (de type enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay -ELISA- par exemple) ou TRD unitaires. Les tests ELISA nécessitent un plateau technique contrairement aux TDR qui pourtant n’ont pas encore été validés sur prélèvement de sang au bout du doigt. 

 

Que fait Epicentre ?

France. Auprès de l’AP-HP et des hôpitaux Henri Mondor à Créteil et Bicêtre à Kremlin-Bicêtre, Epicentre a participé à l’évaluation de plusieurs tests rapides anticorps dont 1 fourni par MSF et de 2 tests rapides antigéniques fourni par MSF avec l’objectif de renforcer la méthodologie d’évaluation rétrospective par rapport à d’autres études -évaluations sur des échantillons de patients caractérisés (données cliniques) avec une taille d’échantillon suffisante – et la définition  d’un protocole. 
 
Cameroun.  En collaboration avec MSF et le ministère de la santé publique du Cameroun, Epicentre montre que les tests rapides sérologiques et antigéniques sont une alternative fiable et plus facile à déployer dans les pays à ressources limitées pour permettre la prise en charge précoce des cas et limiter la propagation de la pandémie. 

Pour en savoir plus lire l'actualité

Niger. Déploiement de la plateforme Alert-CoVid-19 avec la Fondation MSF, Medic Mobile, le ministère de la Santé Publique du Niger et Google pour mettre en place un outil électronique pour organiser la réception et les investigations suite aux alertes CoVid-19.

Pour en savoir plus lire l'actualité 

   
Autres. Préparation de protocoles génériques pour l’évaluation de TDR en pays à ressources limitées.

 

 

Les traitements

La prise en charge reste pour l’instant symptomatique : traitement antipyrétique pour la fièvre (paracétamol), réhydratation et oxygénothérapie pour les cas graves, voire ventilation artificielle en réanimation. Il existe plusieurs centaines d’essais cliniques en cours dans le monde.

Epicentre est partie prenante d’une coalition internationale en lien avec 70 institutions internationales pour accélérer la recherche clinique dans les pays à faibles ressources.

Vaccins

Aujourd’hui des campagnes de vaccinations ont débuté dans plusieurs pays dans le monde. C’est une prouesse de la recherche, si au printemps 2021, 4 vaccins - Pfizer/BioNtech, Moderna, AstraZeneka Johnson & Johnson- ont d’ores et déjà approuvés par l’agence européenne du médicament et plusieurs sont en cours de développement et ce, à peine plus d’un an après le début de la pandémie.

Leur efficacité ainsi que les logistiques nécessaires à leur déploiement sont différentes.

Un vaccin peut en effet agir à plusieurs niveaux. Il peut prévenir l’infection et interrompre la transmission. A ce jour, cette capacité est en cours d’investigation pour les 4 vaccins homologués. Par contre, ces 4 vaccins évitent la survenue de forme symptomatique de la maladie et consécutivement des formes sévères. Les deux vaccins à ARN, celui de Pfizer/BioNtech et celui de Moderna, ont une efficacité supérieure à 90 %, ce qui signifie que les essais cliniques ont montré une réduction de plus de 90 % de survenue des formes symptomatiques chez les personnes ayant reçu le vaccin par rapport au groupe placebo.

Alors que le vaccin de Johnson & Johnson ne nécessite qu’une seule dose, les 3 autres demandent 2 injections.

Publication Epicentre

From China: hope and lessons for COVID-19 control.

Référence de l'article: The Lancet. Infectious diseases 2020 Apr 03; (); Array. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30264-4. Epub 2020 04 03

Serology for SARS-CoV-2: Apprehensions, opportunities, and the path forward.

Référence de l'article: Science immunology 2020 05 19; 5(47); Array. doi: 10.1126/sciimmunol.abc6347. Epub 2020 05 22
Voir plus